

## WELCOME TO THE AYA 2011, ST. SIMONS ISLAND, CONVENTION DAILY COVERAGE.



Convention Chairman and fiancee Debbie LeFave, welcome members to the 2011 St Simons Island Convention.



Renn Gruber and Bob Gibson. A more gracious and helpful host could not be asked for. Thanks Renn. The Gruber hangar was AYA central during the convention. Besides the huge hangar area we had use of the kitchen, the dining room served as a place for the registration team. An open patio area was used as N4Y, the special events ham radio station set up by John Garman.



There were six Grummans in to SSI for Saturday night, and a few members who had to fly in commercially.

No, that is not our Hawker behind Ronnie and Cyndi Mowery's Cheetah...





Speaking of Ronnie and Cyndi, here is part of the ground handling team this year. Thank you for volunteering yet again- we are working on a suitable retirement package for you. Nice team leader hat Ronnie, something for the other team leaders to look forward to.





Carolyn Skaggs has been busy with the message boards to keep members informed.



First Timer Rich Hayden with his Cheetah. There were about 20 planes in Sunday evening.





A few of the Monday arrivals...We had just over 50 planes in by Monday evening.









Karen Wilson registering a Monday arrival. Carolyn Skaggs and Vicki Beauchesne working on the Welcome Reception table center pieces.



John Garman, regional director, at the mike of the AYA amateur radio station, N4Y. John was getting some good contacts on the 40m band.



The Flour Bombing team early in the event and after being in the sun and heat an hour...



Team Lead, Garner Rice, after narrowly being dusted by the flour bomb at the back left corner of his chair.



A competitor lets loose on the target while a few spectators look on from a local pickup.



The Air Boss team of Walt Porter, Charlie Adams and Gregg Erikson.



This close! Team lead, Steve Peach, with Don and Cathy Cochran.



Even the Coast Guard landed long...









Steve Peach led the Map Folding, Owen makes a valiant effort.

Mark and Kelly got a little extra "turbulence"









First-timer Rich Hayden stepped up to host the Broken Towbar contest.











Due to an unfortunate incident Nigel Thomas has acquired a new 'nautical' themed feathered friend. Sir Chicken was un-ceremoniously skewered on the AYA van antenna.



The First Timers of AYA 2011.





John Sjaardema, Excel Air Services, presenting his maintenance seminar. The 'Ask The Experts' panel, RJ Siegel- LoPresti Speed Merchants, Les Staples- Plane Power, Darren Tilman- Power Flow, Ken Blackman- Air Mods NW and John Sjaardema.





Host Golden Isles Aviation and the SSI lighthouse at night.





We can't have a Convention without ice cream- the convention book says so...



Even the Pilot came by to see what the pilots were up to.



The Winners Circle, well, more like an arc with the multiple winners.

On the left is Jim Viola's Tiger, Best Avionics and Best Tiger '90s Forward, Center is Roger Rucker's Cheetah, Best Exterior, Best Interior and Best 4-Place pre 90s. People's Choice winner is on the right, Cheetah owned by Bill and Kathy O'Neal.



Charlie Adams presents AYA 2011 Chairman, Bob Gibson, with an appreciation plaque. Ashley Porter receives her Youngest Flying Pilot award.



Garner Rice receives his 'keeper; plaque for the 2010 Lauren Larsen Memorial award. Mike Babin presents First Timer Dave Ohser and Greg Sincock the First Place award for the new Combined event.



Ken Blackman gives a history of the Lauren Larsen Memorial Award. Joerg Trauboth(left) and Ronnie Mowery were the 2011 Lauren Larsen Memorial Award winners- the first time two separate members have won in the same year. Joerg wins for his untiring work in promoting and growing the AYA in Europe- Region 15. Ronnie wins for his years( since 2007 in Glens Falls) of courteous and friendly Ground Boss work. Cyndi Mowery, Ground Boss's Boss, shares in the award also.



Kelly and Mark Matthews receive their award for the Longest Distance Flown- 4-place. Belatedly Ron Levy(left) is presented with his 'keeper' award from his 2007 Lauren Larsen Memorial Award. Don Cochran receives recognition for his two years as president, 2008-2010.