

Welcome to the 2010 Convention daily coverage.



Our Hosts, Roscoe and Luann, at the Welcome Reception. It looks like Roscoe is busy on the phone dealing with a pressing issue.



Dayton Wright Brothers Airport, looking east. Final on Runway 20, Dayton. We had about 40 planes on the ground Sunday evening.



Your Board at work making the hard decisions that help to keep the AYA moving ahead.



Cindy and Ronnie Mowery, our intrepid ground handling team, with some of their charges. Forty planes by Monday night. Tuesday night we had 65 planes with a total of 85 for the convention. This includes one Cirrus, one Mooney and a Citabria.



Karen and Carol, our registration team.



Roscoe, Luann and Linn give the First Timers a glimpse of the upcoming convention activities.



Every event involving aircraft movement has a briefing. The AYA is proud of it's safety record and is always looking to make improvements. The Board passed a new Visitor Safety program this year. We invariably receive strong support from the airports and officials we deal with at conventions for the professionalism and good attitude of our volunteers and members.





Tuesday dawned, well, it was pretty cloudy with low ceilings. Flour Bomb and Spot Landing competition was started.

Turned out to be a three day event.





Nick Roome with Frank Villanueva, left, and Garner and Celise Rice prepare for the Flour Bomb/Spot Landing. Nick won for the Best 2 place in the aircraft judging. Judging was co-ordinated by Jim Candelletti this year.





Carolyn Brown created the Chicken bombadiers. Several were auctioned with about \$60 going to the AYA Scholarship fund.



Steve and Austin Dalton scored an amazingly close distance. If memory serves it was about 9 feet. Good Job.





The Flour Bomb team, led by Ni Thomas, stand in the safest spot, next to the target. This year the target was the hull of the Patriot prototype.

The Spot Landing team was led by Lou Evans. Ron, get your foot off the line...The competition was suspended when rain and low ceilings crept over the airport. The final competitors finished on Wednesday. Two crews were tied for the Spot Landing. Thursday will be the land-off. The ground games were also postponed until Wednesday morning.





Really close...and the winner of the Land-off Thursday morning is the team of











RaDann Dawson and Kathy Paul at 4 feet. Hal Beauchesne was second at 12 feet. The Citation was short by 1349.28 feet. The Wright B Flyer even came by for a look at what we were doing.





The King's of King Schools were in the neighborhood. Commander Aero was our host FBO.





 $\hbox{RJ Seigel from Lopresti spoke about getting more speed from our line of planes. The Swap Shop was busy.}$





Tuesday evening was the Ice Cream Social and business meeting at the Commander hangar.













A blast from the past, 1991 Convention Chairman Sharon Spence, with Dave Goldman, in his 1991 convention t-shirt. President Don Cochran addressed the business meeting, Stew Wilson and Don Metz also gave reports.



Walt Porter handled the auctioneer duties for the Scholarship Auction to finish the evening.



Air Race participants staging for the big race, the winners are...



Nick Roome, Yankee Class-107.358kts., Bob Hodo, Cheetah Class-132.901kts. and Stu Morse, Tiger Class-142.916kts.



Lou Evans, Cockpit Cool lead and PFP program director, introduced the volunteer instructors- Jim Viola, Ron Levy, Mike Babin, Dick Boland, Jack Maher and Ed Manning. The Cockpit Cool participants were- Jai Maier, Zach Wells, Mary Ann Stanton, Maryjo Candeletti, Pat Manning, Susan Krische, Carolyn Parkins, Chris Maher, Nancy Cramer, Carol Gugel, Trudy Wagner and Susan Dollar.





Zack Wells and instructor Jim Viola getting ready for a Cockpit Cool Flight. I think its this button here...





Rich Mutzman coordinated our Wednesday evening dinner at the Wright-Patterson Air Force Museum. It is rare for non-military groups to be allowed this honor. We have been invited back because of our friendly and courteous members. We made a positive impact with the staff and management.





PFP director Lou Evans and daughter Brittany. A face only a mother, or engineer, could love.







AYA Safety Director, Ron Levy, Graham and Barbara Smith, new Eastern Canada Director Nickolas Roome and his mom and student pilot, Lina.

Seemed like Barbara was driving an AYA van every morning on my trip to the airport.





AYA Scholarship winner Eric Peach with Pauline Barrett, AYA Scholarship winner Clayton Reamer with John, Celise, Minnie and Garner Rice.

Eric won for newest pilot- July 7, and youngest pilot, 17 years. Garner was the 2010 Lauren Larsen recipient.





Guru Ken and Jan Blackman, Prairie Director Steve Peach and AYA 2011 chairman Bob Gibson.





Jim and Maryjo Candeletti, seminar coordinator Dick Martin. Maryjo was kind enough to provide a good many of the convention photos again this year. Thank you.





Guru John and Cheryl Sjaardema, co-chairs Luann and Roscoe.





Roscoe presented a seminar on How To Be A Convention Chair, David Fletcher informed us on maintenance issues.



Ask The Experts with David Fletcher, Bill Scott, Ken Blackman and John Sjaardema and sometimes Roscoe.

Ruth Maestre presented a seminar on Women's Air Racing, with Denise Waters.





Phil Wadsworth gave a seminar on racing in Europe and Stu Morse on his racing experience.





John Sjaardema gave a seminar on our aging fleet- a little scary. Other seminars included Electrical Systems with Les Staples, Finding Wright Brothers hangar with Roscoe and SB 338 Valve Wobble test with Bill Scott.





Luann's AA1 was the victim in the Broken Tow Bar event. Her plane also won the People's Choice award.





Jim Hamel presents the plaque to the women's winner, Sharon Spence, and men's class, Steve Peach.



Our younger members were recruited by Eric Peach to man the Map Folding competition. Wind, water, rocking chairs and other distractions proved to be no match for the map folding skills of AYA Scholarship recipient and winner Clayton Reamer. Eric Peach, also an AYA Scholarship winner, shows of his new pilot license- July 7. He was also the youngest pilot at 17 years.



Lynn and Cyndy Willett handled the rigged pre-flight. There were 46 deficiencies, the winner, Roscoe, found 28.

There will be details in a future Star.

Greg Sincok and Carolyn Brown present the winning plaque for the Air Rally to Mike Babin and Liz Holland.





Gil Alexander handled the Name That Part competition. Guru winner was Ken Blackman and Amateur winner was Walt Porter.





Bill and Carol Scott, Precision Engines, completed an annual inspection on a newly purchased Tiger. David Fletcher, Ken Blackman and others provided extra help and advice.





Roscoe layed (that is a joke, not a misspelling) a difficult Precision Taxi course, Jerry Stanton and Zack managed to flatten 3 eggs.





Kelly and Mark Mathews won for the Longest Distance flown, 4-place. Rich Harrison and Dog won for the Longest Distance flown 2-place. Mark and Kelly also looked after all the vans and drivers, including a last run each evening for Graeters Ice Cream. Yummy...



Steve Roberts, Best Firewall Forward winner, Hangar Hoedown.





Hangar Hoedown





Sarah Sciple ready for the Hoedown. Sarah won for oldest pilot, I think she said 49, or 39...





AYA Chalet at the Dayton Airshow







Thank you to Luann and Roscoe, convention chairs, and to everyone who attended and volunteered.



See you in St Simons Island at AYA 2011.